Getting Married: Prep Book #1

 

A bookworm is proposed marriage by the world’s most awesome guy. A bookworm accepts – whole-heartedly so. A bookworm puts the diamond ring on, cries for joy and can’t believe how very blessed she is.

What next?

Yes. A bookworm looks for books on pre-marital guidance.

I’m that happy bookworm and I’ve found quite a number of good getting married prep books. Better said – WE found the books – as my fiancé is a bit of a bookworm himself. I’ll be writing about a number of them in the course of the next few weeks.

Here’s the first.

Things I Wish I’d Known Before We Got Married, by Gary Chapman.

There are 2 reasons why I liked the book:

Down-to-earth advice. I mean, it has a whole chapter that’s called something along the lines of „Toilets Are Not Self-Cleaning” (shocking, I know!) Chapman, of The 5 Love Languages fame, has this book packed-full with very practical and useful resources and suggestions. We found the “talking it over” part especially helpful.

Short chapters. I know that’s not a major thing, but for a couple that tries to read the book and discuss it together, this is brilliant. I personally loved this best about the book, compared to others. When it comes to relationships, I don’t feel like reading Proust-like phrases or War and Peace size books. Might just be me.

For all those who are somehow skeptical about reading pre-marital guidance books, let me quote Mr. Chapman:

What is ironic is that we recognize the need for education in all other pursuits of life and fail to recognize that need when it comes to marriage.

I say, better enter a marriage prepared.

Any pre-marital guidance books you’ve read? Any you’d recommend? Do you think they’re necessary?

2 thoughts on “Getting Married: Prep Book #1

  1. Really liked your blog post. Really enjoy reading with you. I especially like idea you pointed out, that we recognize the need for education in all other pursuits of life and fail to recognize that need when it comes to marriage. I’d like to name a few books that I think would be useful for young men in their preparation for marriage.

    1. Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus, by John Gray.
    2. For Men Only: A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women by Shaunti Feldhahn and Jeff Feldhahn.
    3. Things I Wish I’d Known Before We Got Married, by Gary Chapman, of course.
    4. Love & Respect: The Love She Most Desires; The Respect He Desperately Needs by Emerson Eggerichs.
    5. Boy Meets Girl: Say Hello to Courtship by Joshua Harris

    There are more.

    Like

    1. Igor,
      thanks for the book recommendations! I will be writing about Boy Meets Girl next week, most probably. Haven’t read Love and Respect yet, but planning to when I’m married – just feels like the kind of book that will prove useful then:)

      Again, thanks for your encouragement and suggestions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

