Walking With God by John Eldredge

Dear fellow bookworms, this week I’m off to camp. I won’t be posting on gribook, but I won’t stop reading, either. You can expect some good posts to come out of what I’ll be reading at camp. Until then, I’m delighted to introduce you to Igor – a bookworm and a charming geek. He also happens to be the man I’ll be marrying in less than two months. I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading his guest post. Ta ta.

My Grandmother took me to Church when I was eight and the village pastor made an impression on me. He was a large man with calloused hands who spoke with a soft voice as he preached to the small congregation. I remember locking myself in the room to preach in front of the mirror. “Brothers and sisters, we have all gathered here together to read from the Word of God. We will open our Bibles to the Gospel of Matthew, chapter six. Let’s stand as we read.”

God must have liked me a lot then, because He has been in my life since.

If I remember well, John Eldridge wrote this book in the course of a year, and probably because of this the entire book feels like a journal. But unlike a journal it is also well structured and flows beautifully from one subject to another. I liked some of the chapters so much that I had to go back to re-read them, and I don’t often do this.

The subject of the book, as the title suggests, is talking to God and hearing from Him. It’s one of those things that you hear mentioned a lot, but very few people really get it. So if you long to understand how to talk and listen to the Creator, this book is a great place to start. Rearing it will not magically open your ear to God’s voice, but it’s a practical book and will shed a good deal of light on this subject.

There are many valuable lessons I’ve learned from the book, like the importance of rest. It talks about guarding your heart and the power of joy. It’s easily one of the best books I’ve read recently and I highly recommend it.

What if you’re not a Christian, should you read this book? I really don’t know, but if you decide to read it, Christian or not, please drop me an email and share your thoughts with me.

ps. I’ve recently also read a few chapters from Forgotten God by Francis Chan. It talks about this subject as well and I think it would be a perfect book to read right after this one.

top photo by Doug

13 thoughts on “Walking With God by John Eldredge

  1. Igor, I loved your story about your grandma taking you to her village church and that is where you met God. How beautiful. My grandma was a prayer warrior. I’ll never forget the time I called her to tell her that my son was born. Her reply was, “I know he is here. I’ve been praying.” ๐Ÿ™‚ A Christian heritage is priceless.

    You and Elena have to slow down with all these good books you are telling us about! My suitcase for Moldova is going to be full of books only!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Heather loves Francis Chan too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Heidi, thank you very much for commenting ๐Ÿ™‚ I love your grandmotherโ€™s reply. I want grow this attuned to Godโ€™s speaking into my life, itโ€™s a deep longing we share as human beings. I canโ€™t wait for you to return to Moldova soon!.. We miss you. Please tell Troy I miss him a lot.

      I love Francis Chan. Elena loves him too. I used to listen to his podcast every week. Send our greetings to Heather please. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    2. Heidi – lol!

      I wouldn’t mind you coming to Moldova with a suitcase-full of books, because then there’ll be more books for us to borrow!

      Quite a few of the books I write about I also own, so you’re welcome to borrow those any time ๐Ÿ™‚

      love

      Like

  2. Igor,

    this is excellent. I’m already looking forward to more of your guest posts!

    I would like to get my hands on a copy of Forgotten God, by Francis Chan. Or get the audiobook from you ๐Ÿ™‚

    love

    Like

  3. The first and the last book that I read from John Eldredge was “Wild at Heart”. Did you read it?
    I became really disappointed and I didn’t read any other book of him.
    Niko

    Like

    1. Igor hasn’t read it (he read Walking with God), but I have read Wild at Heart. I wanted to have a glimpse into the Men’s World ๐Ÿ™‚ I liked it well enough. One of my favourite books is Captivating, that John Eldredge wrote with his wife, Stasi. It is a book for and about women, and it’s insightful, encouraging and inspiring.

      Like

Leave a Reply

