Not Judging a Book by Its Name

If given the chance, I would change the name of this book.

Time has come for another post on a pre-marital guidance book. In case you’re bored with this series by now, please don’t give up on reading. A time will come when you’ll realise you know a lot of very useful things: how to untag yourself on a terrible FB picture, how to get around in a country you don’t speak the language of, how to find a book and download it illegally and so on.   You will discover, however, that you don’t know the faintest thing about how to build a successful relationship that will grow into a healthy marriage. You will then go into the archives of this blog and look for recommendations on pre-marital guidance books. So please bear with me – I’m writing this for the future-clueless-you sake.

Please forgive my being arrogant, but I think I can come up with a better name for this particular book, that’s not half as un-inspired as its name.

I, Isaac Take Thee, Rebekah: Moving From Romance to Lasting Love, by Ravi Zacharias

A renowned Christian speaker and apologist, Ravi Zacharias did not strike me as the type to write a book on relationships. I wasn’t expecting this to be a good book, to be fully honest with you, but I read it so I’d know if it is worth loaning to my friends. A couple of them have borrowed and read it and can confirm: it is.

On of the most memorable advice that Zacharias gives in his book is this: be kind to each other. This is easily done when you’re in love (I’m in love, so I should know what I’m talking about). Forgive me for ruining the romance, but I think being kind is a habit that needs to be cultivated in order for it to last the lifelong commitment.

There are other sensible points and suggestions Ravi Zacharias makes. Nothing too bold or impressive, but a lot of sound advice. It takes us back to some principles that helped ancient Hebrews build their families and keep them strong, by taking Isaac and Rebecca’s story as an example. Which explains the name.

Going back to my first statement, I would change the name of the book because it is too long, and too coded for the biblically illiterate. I’d rather the book be called simply:

From Romance to Lasting Love

Now that is a perfectly sensible name for a perfectly sensible book.

Any chance there are books you like, but would change the name of? Am I being too fussy?

p.s. We’re getting married in a month today. Oh yes, we so are!

Leave a Reply

