Reader, I Married Him


Dear fellow bookworms, you’re very own gribook host is now married to a wonderful, wonderful man.

We’ve had a fabulous wedding, with exceptionally dear and generous guests. Our honeymoon was nothing but pure bliss and now we’re back and settling into our cosy apartment.

Married life, you positively rock.

This makes me Mrs. Bookworm from now on. As such, let me share about the books on marriage and relationships that I’m planning to read.

Love and Respect, Dr. Emerson Eggerichs

Very few books have been recommended to me by as many people and as many times as this book. The cover says the following: Love – what she wants most, Respect – what he desperately needs. Even if it sounds cheesy, I couldn’t agree more. As a woman, I definitely long to be loved. From what my husband tells me, he needs to feel respected. I’ve high expectations of this book.

Laugh Your Way to a Better Marriage, Mark Gungor

I can’t wait to read this book again. Yes, I’ve read it before, when I was as far from getting married as Moldova is from joining the EU. Loved every page of it. Some of you might’ve already watched Mark Gungor’s hilarious and useful marriage seminars or at least snippets of it. He makes you laugh so hard that you don’t even notice how communication principles enter and stick to your brain. More on this book in a later blog post.

The Act of Marriage, Tim and Beverly LaHaye

You know you’re a very close friend of mine when you know that I’d rather be given books as presents than flowers. My friend Tania, she knows that. We’ve had great pre-marital guidance conversations with her – of course, we never called them as fancy as that, they’re just chats. And she’s already given me 2 great books on married life. Now that’s what I call a real friend.

Sacred Marriage, Gary Thomas

If the book above deals more with the physical intimacy between husband and wife, this one touches on the spiritual part of their union. From what I hear, both are vital to a life-long, happy marriage. I’ll be taking notes.

For Women Only/For Men Only, Shaunti and Jeff Feldhahn

I first bought this book for a friend. As I was skimming through I kept having thoughts of keeping it and getting my friend another one. Terrible, I know. I love giving books as gifts to my friends, but I’m tempted to keep them fairly often. Which proves that I give them good ones. This particular book, I didn’t keep but bought myself another copy of. I look forward to reading it.

I can’t tell you how thrilled I am to be stepping into this new season of my life. Especially about doing so with my amazing husband. And a good collection of books on marriage to boot!

Any books you think I need to add to this collection? Any thoughts on the books on my to-read list so far?

5 thoughts on “Reader, I Married Him

  1. felicitări încă o dată 😀 să aveţi o viaţă minunată împreună 😀

    referitor la cărţi, cred că cumva, posibil, le voi citi şi eu, dacă pot fi aplicate şi de jumătatea masculină a cuplului 🙂

    Like

  2. Congratulations! – and thanks for the recommendations. A book I loved (with exercises at the end if you can face them), is ‘Intimate Allies’ by Dan Allender. Really challenging and exciting.

    Like

    1. thank you, Emma! Dan Allender seems to have a whole Intimate Marriage series – will have to get the Intimate Allies one. And exercises appear to be popular – the book I’m currently reading has some, too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

