Doubting Your Doubts

Some say Tim Keller is the C. S. Lewis of the 21st Century. The C. S. Lewis fan that I am frowns sceptically at remarks like this. Yet, it is intriguing.

I’ve read Timothy Keller’s The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Scepticism

It left me deeply impressed. Rest assured, Lewis still holds his special place in my heart. Keller’s writing is not nearly as elegant and eloquent. As a matter of fact he is not so much of a writer, more of a pastor and an apologist who wrote his thoughts down and compiled them in this book (and many others). I’m glad he did.

Keller is a Christian thinker.

Nope, not an oxymoron. He doesn’t pretend tough questions don’t exist, he doesn’t pretend serious doubts don’t exist. They do. So many of us as Christians (me included) dread questions and doubts. Why is that? Is our God threatened by them? Is our God that small?

Sometimes, when people learn that we’re Christians, they ask questions. About every single aspect of our faith, about every single mistake the Church has made, about every single thing they don’t understand about the universe, the human race or God. And, they expect us to be able to answer them.

Let me settle this once and for all. Most Christians won’t know the answer to all of your questions. Christians and Google Search are different this way.

Keller does try to answer some tough questions in his book: How could a good God allow suffering? How can you believe when the Church is responsible for so much injustice? How can you take the Bible literally?

He also tackles concepts that are puzzling to most unbelievers, and to quite a few believers, too: the sin, the cross, the resurection, etc.

In The Reason for God, Keller is saying, to believers and unbelievers alike: it is okay to doubt. But, by all means, doubt your doubts.

Alas, as much as I like reading books on apologetics, I’m not very good at reviewing them. But I will tell you that The Reason for God is one excellent book.

Before I finish this post, I’ll share just one of Keller’s thoughts:

Every doubt, therefore, is based on a leap of faith.

Do you read books on apologetics? Any particular one you liked? Any other thoughts, questions, doubts you’d like to share?

8 thoughts on “Doubting Your Doubts

  1. I am so going to read this book someday. I used to read books on apologetics and I’ve missed it. My first one on this subject was also the one I (and I know you also) most liked – Mere Christianity by C.S.Lewis.

    With each book review on your blog – my reading list gets one or two books longer. Thank you for this great review!

    Your husband.

    Like

    1. I love you, dearest husband.

      Thank you for not only adding books on your to-read list, but also for supporting my reading habits and making sure I get the books I want 🙂

      If you decide you want to read this book, I offer to show you where in our home, and where on our bookshelf you can find it 😉

      Like

  2. Lately I have a ton of doubts about Christianity, but something tells me there’s an answer for each of them. Hope this book will enlighten me, at least a little. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Like

    1. you’re welcome, Raul.

      I read this book when I was struggling with questions, too. I can’t say it did miracles for me, but it helped see a picture bigger than my limited view.

      There’s a few other books I’d recommend, like Lee Strobel’s The Case for Faith, or Philip Yancey’s Dissapointed with God, Where is God When it Hurts, Prayer, Does it Make a Difference. There’s a lot of Yancey books on difficult topics, as you can tell!

      I appreciate authors like Keller, Yancey and others – who have the courage to speak about things that we all go through at some point or another. Even people in the Bible did, like Job, David, Jeremiah – still, God was able to work greatly through them, despite their time of discouragement and confusion. Or maybe even because of these struggles in their lives.

      Like

  3. Hello married one!

    I have to admit I find it difficult to read many apologetic books. Maybe it’s a throw-back from Bible college and those late-night cramming sessions! Saying that, Philip Yancey’s always interesting – and I like listening to Tim Keller – he’s very incisive on culture…plus he sounds very cuddly. (In a brotherly way 🙂 John Stott is also full of sense and wisdom.

    Like

    1. Yes, I’ve heard Bible college does that to you! Haven’t read anything by John Stott – anything you’d recommend in particular? And your “hello married one” so made me smile 🙂 blessings, Emma.

      Like

Leave a Reply

