Bad News

autumn bookworm.jpg

Dear fellow bookworms,

Among many good reads and great news, here’s something I’m not proud of sharing with you. I wasn’t quite sure whether to actually mention it or not, but then I do feel accountable to you. Besides, it would be unfair to share the ups and not the downs of a bookworm’s life. Like the lives of any other human being on this planet, it is not all rosy.

Sigh.

I regret to inform you that I have given up on reading Uncle Tom’s Cabin, by Harriet Beecher Stowe.

After sharing my frustration with this book in a previous post, in which I affirmed my determination to finish reading it, I have not registered any progress whatsoever.

My husband suggested I leave it a few times, yet I was resolute. I even asked him to get hold of an e-book copy of it, hoping that might speed up the process. Turned out to be a false hope.

A discussion with my friend Kalyna stirred the desire to give it another try. She highly recommended it. This was not the first time we had a chat about our favourite reads (including an almost-two-hours-long one on the Chronicles of Narnia), so I grew to trust her opinions. Unfortunately, even that didn’t help.

The lingering thought of giving up on it has taunted me for about a week now. I fought it fiercely, but then decided it’s not worth the pain. There are so many amazing books out there, there’s not point in getting stuck on this particular one.

Please don’t judge me too harshly. I did my best, but some things are not meant to be. Dear Uncle Tom’s Cabin – it’s not you, it’s me. (Side-note: my speaking in clichés is a self-induced punishment.)

That’s all the bad news I had to share with you today. There’s plenty of good news, though –  life has not stopped at one failed read. A fact I’m celebrating by posting an awesome picture my friend Dana took, on a fun autumn bookworm photo- session.

Still, your support, understanding  – and hugs! – will be greatly appreciated at a time like this.

12 thoughts on “Bad News

  1. Aw, sorry to hear you had to give up on it. You’re right, though, it’s not worth being torn up about it. But I still stand by my opinion that it’s a great book, albeit a difficult one to get through. Just out of curiosity, how far did you get? Did you see Eliza and her son safely across the icy river?

    Like

    1. Kalyna, I don’t know how you do this, but you’ve managed to stir my interest for the book again 🙂 No, I haven’t gone anywhere far in the book, not even through with the first chapter.

      I guess that’s one of the reason I felt so bad about giving up reading this book. It wouldn’t be too bad if it were small and unknown, but as it’s such an acclaimed piece of literature, it felt like I’ll be missing out on something great. Maybe a time will come when I’ll be ready to pick it up again and read it in a breath. Ah, hope never dies, does it? 🙂

      Like

    1. Dumitru – I’ve heard that from quite a lot of people, actually. I’m sure it is – and who knows, maybe I’ll be saying the same thing one day! 🙂

      Like

  2. If it makes you feel any better, I got stuck on it the first time I read it, too, and put it down for a few years. I picked up again later, with the expectation of it being a difficult read, and then I read it and enjoyed it. Do try it in English next time, though, if you ever try it again. It seems to me it would be a difficult book to read as a translation.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Kalyna. That does make me feel a whole lot better 🙂 And yes, I’m pretty sure I’ll be trying the original English next time – I realised that even when we had that chat at the Fh, that it might be the Romanian translation of it that didn’t go well with me. I’ll let it be for a few years and then try again – who knows, I might like it, like you did on your second try.

      Like

Leave a Reply

