Latest Book Purchases

I’d like to brag about the books I recently bought.

I don’t do this often, but can’t promise I won’t do it again. You see, I bought 7 books in English for only about $10, at the Christmas Charity Bazaar, in Chisinau. They are second-hand books, but some of them are true gems. So how can I NOT brag about them?

Let me introduce you to my latest book purchases:

  1. My Utmost for His Highest, Oswald Chambers
    The Christian devotional classic. I’ve seen it being quoted in other books, and that always sparks my interest. Finally owning my very own copy of it.
  2. A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson
    Bryson is one of the most hilarious authors I’ve come across. Have read two of his books and this one is supposed to be one of his most popular.
  3. A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens
    Although I’m not the biggest Dickens fan, this particular title has come accross in a few ‘must-read’ lists. I’ll give it a try.
  4. Streams of Living Waters, Richard Foster
    Previously this year I’ve read the Celebration of Discipline. It left me deeply impressed, especially because of how profound and genuine the author is. I have high expectations of this one.
  5. The Seeker’s Bible
    English Bibles are a rare find in Chisinau. I have a brand new one that I was given as a gift, so I bought this one to keep for when a friend needs an English Bible.
  6. Reunion, Karen Kingsbury and Gary Smalley
  7. Return, Karen Kingsbury and Gary Smalley
    Two authors join forces to write the Redemption series. Karen Kingsbury has been on my to-read list for a while now (her books seem to be tremendously popular) and Gary Smalley’s book on relationships I’ve read earlier this year (and I’ve also shared about it with you here). Too bad I only have book #3 and #5 of this series, so if any of you can lend me the other ones, please do!

These are the books I got, but there were other great bargains, and I only wish I had more cash on me. Or maybe that was a good thing – I would’ve spent way too much.

My friend Tanya bought a great compilation of 4 C.S.Lewis books for about $1,50 and another friend, Rodica, bought 3 books in The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, by Alexander McCall Smith (one of my all-time favourites) – for only $3,30.

All I can say is – make sure you don’t miss the Christmas Bazaar next year, if in Chisinau.Β They have loads of other things for sale, like cute handmade Christmas decorations, beautiful jewelry, a variety of delicious cookies and food and other fun stuff. I had my eyes on quite a few things, but my heart (and money) went for the books.

My featured picture is a photo of my friend Michelle buying books in Paris. I hope to be reporting about my book purchases in Paris some day, too. Thank you for the pic, Michelle!

 

What books have you recently bought? This is the place to brag about them!

16 thoughts on “Latest Book Purchases

  1. Love how you teach me about different authors. πŸ™‚
    I need to find out more about Bill Bryson now. And I have to read Alexander McCall-Smith for I am a huge fan of detective/crime/mystery types of books. Thank you!

    Like

    1. Heidi – I’d love to lend you an Alexander McCall Smith book! I have a feeling you’ll love them. I have a Bill Bryson book on my Kindle – but it’s on science, so I’m not sure how much you’d enjoy that. He does manage to make even a popular science book and entertaining read – which says a lot πŸ™‚

      looking forward to when you’ll come for coffee – you can browse my library and get a Kindle sleeve. I’ve also your books to give you back!

      Like

    1. Thank you Andy! The Raatz libraries are my favourite πŸ™‚
      We actually came across a book that Nancy probably donated to the American Embassy, for sale at the Christmas Bazzar. I think it was God’s Promises and Answers to Women and Tanya T. got it πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Ador bazarurile de carti, si de vechituri.
    Si le cumpar, cind trec pe alaturi…Tre. sa recunosc, tara unde ma aflu e AS in tot ce tine de marketingul cu obiecte de genul.
    Din pacate, asa si nu ajung sa citesc. Ador cartile, imi place mirosul lor, vechi, de hirtie, de cerneala.
    Uneori, chiar si parca de atmosfera anilor, cind cartea a fost fabricata.
    Dar uite ca nu ajung la ele…in toata litera lor.
    Enjoy cu ochiul, deocamdata…

    Like

    1. Ancik, cind vorbeam despre reporting back from Paris, ma refeream la o vizita pe care’am sa ti’o fac in the future πŸ™‚ asa ca, te rog inspecteaza zona, vezi unde’s cele mai dragute second-hand bookshops si noua cu Igor ne ramine doar bilet sa luat spre Paris πŸ˜€ love you

      Like

    1. I’m sorry you didn’t come, too – I wanted to get those Asimov’s Fiction magazines for you, but wasn’t sure if you’d like them… we’ll just have to go again next year, I guess πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I sure admire you a lot for your love for reading. I hope I had the same love for reading as I have for buying the books. ….hmmmmm… a thought just came to mind…… how about I buy them, you read them, and then write here about them ??? LOL.

    Like

    1. lol, Adriana! This arrangement would suit me just fine πŸ˜€
      I admire you for a great many things, and very grateful for our friendship πŸ™‚ love

      Like

  4. I have also been reading through My Utmost for His Highest. It is a great devotional. πŸ™‚
    I love your idea for this website. Bookworms unite! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Bookworms unite for sure, Brittany! πŸ™‚

      My husband’s also started reading through My Utmost for His Highest and he likes it. I am happy I got it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

