My 2012 To-read List

blog-img_0008

I like books, I like lists, I like planning. My fondness of these account for today’s post.

For this year, I’ve come up with a narrowed down – key word being “narrowed” –  list of the books I’d like to read. Perhaps I’ll read them, perhaps I won’t. I simply want my intentions to be documented on Gribook.me

At the end of the year, remind me to let you know how I fared.

Here goes: some titles I plan to read in 2012. 

FICTION

The Hobbit, J.R.R. Tolkien

Perelandra, C.S.Lewis  

La’s Orchestra Saves the World, Alexander McCall Smith

Unlocked, Karen Kingsbury

The Great Divorce, C.S. Lewis

A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens,

Dune, Frank Herbert

 

NON-FICTION

Steve Jobs, Walter Isaacson

A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson

Outliers: the story of success, Malcolm Gladwell 

Tribes, Seth Godin

I Quit! Geri Scazzero

One Thousand Gifts, Ann Voskamp

Real Marriage, Mark Driscoll

 

Out of these, Perelandra by C.S.Lewis and Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell I have already read. I’m currently laughing my way through Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods. All great reads.

Any books you’re planning to get your hands on this year? Care to mention them here?

 

28 thoughts on “My 2012 To-read List

    1. I’ve most of them on my Kindle. The only hard copy ones I have are:

      A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson
      A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens
      I Quit! Geri Scazzero
      A Thousand Gifts, Ann Voskamp
      Dunes, Frank Herbert – this one’s in Romanian, too

      By the way, there’s a book about football I have – Fever Pitch, by Nick Hornby – you might like it: http://amzn.to/3dZYYg

      you’re welcome to borrow it 🙂

      Like

  1. Hi Elena – Hope things are going great.

    I wanted to see if you’d add a book to your list and consider reviewing it.

    My new book, Letters From A Martyred Christian is now out in Kindle version and can be purchased or borrowed from Amazon here:

    http://www.amazon.com/Letters-Martyred-Christian-ebook/dp/B006VH1XDO/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1326227782&sr=1-1

    Or, if you’re willing to write a review, I’ll gladly send you a copy. Contact me on Facebook.

    The Great Divorce was actually a lot of the inspiration for the style of this book. It’s in my top two favorites of all time.

    Thanks for maintaining this blog, I check on it often. I’ve always got too many books open at one time.

    -H.L.

    Like

    1. H.L. – good to hear from you!

      Sounds interesting, Letters From a Martyred Christian. Is this your first fiction book? That’s exciting!
      My husband read your comment and is intrigued. He’d like to read and maybe review it 🙂 He’s been reading a biography of Bonhoeffer and likes it a lot, and your book sounds somewhat similar.

      Blessings to you and Kara!

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your list here, I believe it’s a good idea to have this post here so you can later link to it at the end of the year.

    I’ll join you in this and share a few books I am planning to read also:

    Fiction:
    ++ The Hunger Games Trilogy (already finished two this month)
    ++ Water for the Elephants, by Sara Gruen
    ++ 11-22-63 by Stephen King
    ++ 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
    ++ Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card (the second book in the Ender series)
    ++ Dune, by Frank Herbert, the first book.
    ++ A Game of Thrones, by George R. R. Martin

    Non-Fiction
    ++ Erasing Hell, by Francis Chan
    ++ Bonhoeffer by Eric Metaxas
    ++ The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer
    ++ Back to Work, by Bill Clinton
    ++ Orthodoxy, by G. K. Chesterton
    ++ The Me I Want to Be, by John Ortberg
    ++ Celebration of Discipline, by Richard J. Foster

    Loved the post, keep them coming!

    Like

    1. This is awesome, thanks for joining me! We can keep each other accountable this way. It helps we live under the same roof, too 😀

      Our lists couldn’t be more different, which is fun. I was considering The Cost of Discipleship, too – so maybe I’ll read it with you. I look forward to sharing impressions about Dune and hearing all about the other books.

      love you

      Like

  3. Oooooo, The Great Divorce, The Hobbit, A Tale of Two Cities – all of these are among my favorite books! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do! And reading The Hobbit this year is perfect – just in time for the movie! 🙂
    I don’t know what books I’ll read this year. I’ve just started The Three Musketeers – but after that, no plans. We’ll see what I pick up next!

    Like

    1. Kalyna, The Hobbit and A Tale of Two Cities are on this list because of your recommendations. Same as Perelandra, as a matter of fact – which I enjoyed. So thanks!

      Like

  4. I’ve read excerpts from The Great Divorce, but you’ve inspired me to give it a proper read. Also on my list is the Border Trilogy by Cormac McCarthy and some short stories by Ivan Bunin. We’ll see how far I get!

    Like

    1. Emma, let’s share impressions about The Great Divorce when we read it. McCarthy and Bunin both sound interesting – do you like reading classics?

      Like

  5. Enjoyed ready your list Elena- and Igor’s. I see he’s intedning to read “The Me I want to be” as well! Good choice. I also have “The Cost of Discipleship” on my list for this year.

    Ahhh…”The Hobbit”. In preparation for the film later in the year?? I first read this when I was 8 and loved it so much that I started to write my own dranatic version of it at the time- am emabrrassed to recall getting my friiends to practice it at school break times!! I think we only managed to do the first Chapter!!

    Like

    1. Great to see you here, Allan!

      Funny story, about your dramatic version of The Hobbit. Your friend’s should’ve auditioned for the movie, considering their previous experience 😀

      Yes, I’m hoping to read it before the movie is out. It will probably be the next fiction book I read – not sure when the movie’s out, but I’m guess it’s soon!

      Like

    1. Ana, you do have one of the cosiest reading corner, though 🙂 Saw some pictures on your blog – I even pinned it on my Pinterest, wish I had one of those!

      I started Uncle Tom’s Cabin myself, but could not find it in me to finish it. Even though, like you, I’ve been highly recommended it. The entire story’s documented on the blog – http://gribook.me/posts/tag/uncle-toms-cabin/ 🙂

      Let me know how you like the book if you’re more successful at it than I was!

      Like

    1. Well done, Niko!
      Considering you’re a student and probably have incredible amounts of readings to do for your course, this is quite an achievement 🙂
      Do you have an account on Goodreads?

      Like

  6. Yes, true!
    No, I’m not a very good user of internet/computer.
    I don’t know what “goodreads” is about? 😀
    I guess is a website, right?
    Inform me! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

