What’s Your Favourite Love Story?

valentines

Valentine’s Day is all but behind us. Thankfully, love and romance is not. I say thankfully, because I’m grateful we don’t only have one day to express and receive love.

I like love. A lot.

My favourite love story is the one God wrote for my wonderful husband and I. About that, perhaps another time. In this post, I’ll share about the greatest love stories I’ve ever read.

Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen

Cliché, I know. The story of Elizabeth Bennet, a beautiful and delightfully witty young lady, and Mr. Darcy ,a handsome and irritatingly proud man, is one of the world’s most famous and most loved.

I put its charm down to the fact that theirs is a transforming love. It transforms them, because they have to fight against odds and themselves, their own pride (and prejudice!). It transforms the society around them, because they refuse to let in to the pressure of marriage for its own sake or for financial reasons. It transforms us, because it stirs our longings to be wooed and loved like that.

Redeeming Love, Francine Rivers

This is a story of Michael Hosea, a farmer who’s trying to start a life in California, in the middle of 19th Century. He falls in love with Angel, who is a prostitute and marries her, trying to win her love. No, this is not Pretty Woman. It is a story inspired by the book of Hosea, in the Bible, and a moving depiction of God’s steadfast love for us.

Michael Hosea is not simply infatuated, he is committed and determined in his love. Angel is only familiar with lust and superficial attachments, if any at all. Michael woes and fights for Angel again and again, even when she shows him nothing but contempt, running away from him and going back to prostitution. I read this book in what seemed like one breath.

The Bible

The ultimate love story, however, is the story of God’s love for us. The entire Bible tells this magnificent story: how God chooses and longs to win the hearts of His people, how He is jealous for their love and heartbroken by their sin, how He sends His only Son to save His beloved, and pays the greatest cost just so that we could be able to come to Him, freely and boldly. Our God is holy, just and faithful. But He is most of all loving – infinitely loving.

Valentine’s Day or not, you should know: you are loved.

 

Your turn to share now. What is YOUR favourite love story?

 

Featured picture courtesy of Reny 

13 thoughts on “What’s Your Favourite Love Story?

  1. I have read the love story, “Redeeming Love”, four times.
    And I’ll read it again. If anyone would like to read it in English, you may borrow my copy if you promise to return it. 🙂

    Also, I’ve reread the O’Mallory Family series by Dee Henderson more than once. Dee writes a beautiful story about seven orphans who make an agreement to be a family. The love between them as family members and the love for the spouses they meet later in their lives exemplifies the depth of Christ’s acceptance and unconditional love He has for us.

    It is easy to reread books that are well written and capture our hearts.

    Like

    1. Heidi, I like Dee Henderson’s novels, too! She’s brilliant at weaving suspense with romance, and keeping you at the edge of your sit all throughout the books. Thanks for introducing me to her 🙂

      Like

  2. I think you mentioned all the love stories I’ve ever read. Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite books, but I also loved Redeeming Love (and of course, the Bible.) I’m sitting here trying to think of any other love stories that I’ve read, and can’t think of any! Well, the Mark of the Lion series (also by Francine Rivers) are sort of love stories, and are quite good. Guess I’m not much of a romanticist. 🙂

    Like

    1. Kalyna – I’m not much of a romantic novels reader, either. Although most novels, even if not romance per se, almost inevitably touch on love and relationships even if only the tiniest bit. I like a lot of books like that 🙂
      Have not read The Mark of the Lion, but I have heard quite a bit about the series. Moving it to my to-read list, the ever growing 🙂

      Like

  3. There is no greater and more authentic love than God’s. God is the author of love. Wait, God is love.

    There is an interesting story of love in the animated movie Wall-E that I like. It doesn’t matter it’s between 2 robots; the movie was made for humans, and it’s a great story.

    Like

  4. I would suggest to read, “I Married You” it is a true story of a couple that faced different challenges in their own marriage.
    I would suggest to read, “I Loved a Girl”, as well.
    Both books are written by Walter Trobisch.
    Through these books I learned how important is the “PROMISE”, what an “I Love You” means…I learned that LOVE is stronger than death (Songs of Songs.8:6)…I learned also that a real man knows what he wants, takes a decision and then act according to that.

    Blessings in Christ,
    Niko 😉

    Like

    1. Niko,

      One of my favourite quotes is by Walter Trobisch: Christ accepts us as we are, but when he accepts us, we cannot remain as we are.
      Even so, I have not read any of his books, YET. Have added both your recommendations to my wishlist. Thank you!

      blessings to you, too and good to see you here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

