Am I Making A Difference?

candle
On July 9th, it will be one year since Gribook.me was launched. Perhaps this is a rite of passage for bloggers, but I find I’m asking myself some serious questions.

I will spare you of all my self interviews –  the bottom line question is this:

Am I making a difference by writing this blog?

See, when I started off all I had was my passion for reading and writing. This, in English. For a Romanian-speaking Moldovan girl, this is somewhat unusual.

I always enjoyed reading, and I enthusiastically share about books with anyone who’d listen. Blogging seemed like a win-win: I had a creative outlet and my friends were spared of my shoving books down their throats.

I would’ve never dared start this blog if not for my husbands’ support. He’s been very faithful in his commitment to me and to the gribook ideas – for which I am immensely grateful.

When I started blogging, a few changes occured. Some I liked and some I didn’t like that much.

The changes I liked were that I met some incredibly kind readers who were generous in their support and feedback – not many, but very much appreciated.  Then, the blog grew and became a platform for other projects (like Gribook Accessories). It also challenged me to explore the world of endless books-connected possibilities (like making a book-cake).

What I didn’t like was the pressure to read certain books (because they’re popular, or because they make you look smarter), the tendency to judge how good of a person and writer you are by the number of people who see or read your posts, and the fact that sometimes when reading a book, I thought about how I’d review it, rather than simply enjoying it.

My goal is to share my reading journey with you. This, in the hope that it will encourage and inspire you. Not only to pick up a book, but to find your own passion, to take time to delight in the little and the most simple joys of life. To enjoy and celebrate the world and the life God has given you, day in and day out.

Yet, in order to continue writing about books Wednesday after Wednesday, I need to find some answers for myself.

Asking ourselves questions like these is healthy, and not just about blogging, but about everything we do in life. At least healthier than wasting our time on pointless endeavours.

Do you ask yourself this question? Are you making a difference through what you’re doing?

8 thoughts on “Am I Making A Difference?

  1. I so understand you.

    Working in a creative field, I ask myself this question all the time. As a designer I create work that more often than not becomes “old” and is discarded in 3-4 years. The value of my work seems to be very short-lived.

    With your blog, you will seldom find out and see the effects of the ripples it creates. They can go unnoticed even for the person who would benefit from them. They can take time.

    But knowing you and your values, I believe you are the perfect person to write a blog like this one.

    I liked reading this, it made me think.

    Like

    1. You are remarkable – how you always know the right things to say, is beyond me. Thank you – for being who you are. Because of you, I’m becoming a better me.

      Like

  2. I read your blog for the first time only a few weeks ago and I was pleasantly surprised. Like you said, it is a very unusual hobby for a Romanian-speaking Moldovan girl (I like this :0)). Even though I don’t leave comments all the time, I enjoy reading your thoughts. I am very proud of you and hope you will continue doing this.

    We live in the US now and I am so happy to see how many people love to read in this country. For a while, more than 2 years now, I was thinking how could I bring this love for reading in Moldova. I remember growing up, the local library in the town I lived in was always empty and the librarian was almost shocked to see me coming every week to borrow a book. I hope this changed. I really hope there are more children and young people reading in Moldova now.

    What do you think, Elena? Would you like to work with me on this “Project”? What you are doing is extremely important and I think you should share it with more children and young people in Moldova.

    Keep on doing what you do. It’s a great thing!

    Like

    1. Valentina – thank you so much for taking the time to write this! I am very encouraged. Especially since you’re one of the people I looked up to as a teenager 🙂

      Things are changing in Moldova – and a lot more young people are reading these days. You’ll be surprised how many people have Kindles and read on rutieras – I have seen one guy the other day and it put a smile on my face. I think that a country that has young people who read still has hope for the future, so I’m definitely in with encouraging Moldovans to read 🙂

      Again, thank you for the encouragement you have been to me before, and now, too!

      Like

  3. I could ‘write a book’ of how you have made a difference by expressing your love of reading, how you have taught others to appreciate books that they may have not read until you shared about it, how you have made us think deeper about book topics or quotes, or how you have made us laugh or smile because of your comments about a book.

    I have learned about new books because of your blog! Or have been reacquainted with a few old titles.

    I hope you continue your blog.

    I’m proud of you.

    Like

    1. Thank you do much, Heidi! I hope you saw the next article I posted – about the people who make reading – and life! – so much more fun. You are definitely one of those people. I am very grateful for your support, with Gribook and Gribook Accessories and the great brainstorming sessions and awesome ideas that come out of them! But most of all I’m grateful for you friendship – it is very, very dear to me. Love

      Like

  4. Elena,this is a great question that you are asking yourself…I ask myself this question quite often, as well…I think it is very good to just stop and think about what you invest your time in…and if it is worth it…than just following some kind of routine and doing the same things over and over again,just because…Our time means our life…so,I loved this post a lot.
    You surely made a difference for me…One of the ways that you did it,is that I read some of your reviews for some books and then I found them and read them/got the dvd of the movie based on them…I don’t like to waste time reading books that,although quite popular,are not worth it…So,your honest reviews and good taste,that I really trust,surely made a difference for me…
    Love you 🙂

    Like

    1. You are so right, Cris! Time is too precious to just waste it doing something we don’t like, or that’s not making any difference. And too precious to waste on books we don’t like, too 😀 Thanks for always being such an amazing friend and support – you made and still make a huge difference in my life! love

      Like

Leave a Reply

