4 Books I Borrowed From the Library

I am very fond of my Kindle.

But every now and then I crave a regular, “real” book. I miss holding paper in my hand, I miss hearing the pages as I turn them, I miss using one of my numerous bookmarks. In such desperate times, I have a personal library to turn to. That is now thousands of miles away. In Klaipeda, I have the LCC Library that comes to the rescue.

Because I was have exactly this sort of craving, I popped in to the Library last week. Of course, I got lost in there for about 3 hours. Good I had no pressing meeting or job-related tasks that day. The result of my visit was a bundle of 4 promising, and very real books.


A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian, by Marina Lewycka 

This is a book I saw one of my Goodreads friends read at some point and the title sounded funny enough to intrigue me. It is a book about a family of Ukrainian Immigrants in the UK. The elderly father marries a much younger Ukrainian lady who is obviously after his supposed wealth. It is a story both comical and sad – taking readers through life during WWII and after. It all ends well – and we know that all is well that ends well. Not very impressed by this book, but it might just be me.

 

The Next Evolution of Marketing, by Bob Gilbreath

My interest in Marketing was something I mentioned before and here’s a book that caught my attention. I really don’t know what to expect, as this is adventuring into foreign territory for me, but I will let you know what I think of it when I’m done. If you have come across a brilliant book on Marketing, please let me know!

 

 

Leota’s Garden, by Francine Rivers

Just as much as I need a hard-copy book in my hands every now and then, I need to read novels to unwind regularly, too. I went to the library with the intention of getting Karen Kingsbury’s A Moment of Weakness (recommended by Nikolino on the blog). It was checked out already, so I got Leota’s Garden, which was recommended by another friend who saw me perusing the shelves. Both Rivers and Kingsbury are excellent Christian fiction writers, and the only problem with their books is that once you have started them, they keep you awake and reading long into the night.

The Screwtape Letters, by C. S. Lewis

One of the few audiobooks I have listened to, before discovering that I’m not that big of an audiobook fan, unlike my husband. Fascinating read, because of the unorthodox perspective on life and Christianity and because of the accuracy and depths of it. This is a story of an older devil teaching a younger one about manipulating man. I am going to give it a second, proper read, because I don’t remember much of the details (which is what usually happens with books I listen to). I only remember that it made a lasting impression me, so it is time for a re-read!

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

What are you reading now?

 

Picture courtesy of CCAC North Library.

2 thoughts on “4 Books I Borrowed From the Library

  1. with all my respect to kindles and technology but i still prefer real books. i love so much their different designs, their different paper and that i feel how much for real is left from the whole book…

    Like

    1. I totally agree, Irina! Hard copy books ARE special, and they make you feel somehow special. I hope that however much the technology progresses, we’ll still have books, regular, familiar, dear.

      Like

Leave a Reply

