Two Thoughts on Prayer

circlemaker.jpg

I’m reading a book on prayer and a few thoughts have popped up in the process.

 The Circle Maker, by Mark Batterson.

My friend Nancy recommended it, and other couple of friends are reading it (I mean you, Heidi and Kate!). Doing a lot of highlighting as I read, and here are a couple of my thoughts.

It’s so easy to underestimate prayer.

I’m the first one guilty of this. Although I have experienced God’s generous answer to my prayers on countless – COUNTLESS – amazing occasions, I am quick to forget and doubt.

The greatest tragedy in life is the prayers that go unanswered because they go unasked.

This is a reminder I needed. How God lets us be part of the way He works is beyond my understanding. But do I want to be part of it – oh yes!

It’s so hard to pray big prayers

Batterson book tells of big, huge, enormous prayer requests that have been uttered and answered. He stresses how big God’s dreams for us are and how we fail to pray big enough.

Nothing honours God more than a big dream that is way beyond our ability to accomplish. Why? Because there is no way we can credit for it.

It is true, so true, yet somewhat scary. What if my unfathomable dreams come true and my deepest wishes granted? There is fear of failure and there’s fear of success. Between these two, a comfortable, ordinary, lifeless life happens. The lifeless life that millions are living.

Most of us don’t get what we want mostly because we don’t know what we want.

I had to stop myself and ask: what are the big dreams God is putting on my heart? Do I dare pray for them? He’s given me the desires of my heart in so many ways, and it’s only just the beginning!

To end with, here’s a favourite: I can account for the accuracy of this statement and the joy of it. Makes me chuckle only thinking of the many times I have seen this in my life:

God always has a holy surprise up His sovereign sleeve!

Oh, He does! Oh, He does!

Any thoughts on prayer you want to share?

3 thoughts on “Two Thoughts on Prayer

    1. You’d like this book, Tanya – because Batterson’s basically saying: PRAY BIGGER, PRAY BOLDER. I’ve a feeling this is a message you’d appreciate 🙂 Miss you, prayer warrior-princess!

      Like

Leave a Reply

