The Hobbit, the Movie

img_0050
This is a big year for books turned movie releases.

I’m only interested in the following few:

The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Life of Piby Yann Martel

Anna Karenina, by Lev Tolstoy

Various sources say  we might see The Great Gatsby, by Scott Fitzgerald, On the Road, by Jack Kerouac and The Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens turned into movies, too.

Hubby and I went to see The Hobbit – or, like they say it in Lithuania: Hobitas.

The book.

I have read the book earlier this year and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Even for someone who’s not big on Fantasy, I was fascinated by Tolkien’s story-telling. The English is mesmerising and the fight between good and evil fierce. I was holding my breath through most of the book and, afraid to admit, skipped most every “song”.

The movie.

It’s a good one.

A lot of gruesome fighting – that usually makes for a bad movie-experience for me – this time tempered by the fact that I knew it all ends well. Beautiful scenery of the Middle-earth – the Hobbit’s Shire was quaint, and the Elves’ Rivendell breathtaking. Even the underground world of the Orks was impressive, in a kind of disgusting way.

Bilbo Baggins, and the actor who played him – Martin Freeman – was absolutely adorable. He brightened up even the darkest scenes with his unassuming charm. Gandalf was of course his wise and resourceful self. The Dwarves make for a tough and brave company and I enjoyed their songs more than in the book.

BUT who knew that this is only Part I? Not one article I read mentioned it so it was a bit of a disappointment. Why would they take this treasure of a book and chop it up to squeeze as much profit as possible out of it? Oh well.

Both hubby and I liked it, so I guess they’ll be making more money off us.

Until then, The Life of Pi is next and the trailer promises awesomness!

 

Have you seen The Hobbit? How did you like it?

Any other movie adaptation of a book you’d recommend?

2 thoughts on “The Hobbit, the Movie

  1. I’ve seen it as well and loved it. Also, I am happy it is a trilogy of films, because it is more extended. And they will release the other 2 in the next 2 years, so it’s basically a 3-year amazing experience.

    Like

    1. Really? See, I didn’t know that. The Hobbit is a much shorter book than LOTR, so I’m surprised that they’ll make 3 movies out of it. I can imagine how you can split it in two, but three is a little exaggerated. But hey, you have the right approach, Raoul – looking forward to 3 years of excitement!

      Like

Leave a Reply

