Book Covers Galore

I don’t know about you, but beautiful book covers make me smile. More than that, they inspire me.

So while my husband and I are in Copenhagen, I decided to visit a few bookshops and see if the famous Danish love of good design translated at all into books. Now I’m not expert enough in either design or Danish design, but there were plenty smile-inducing covers to look at, in all three bookshops I’ve had the chance to see.

I apologize for the quality of the pictures, but they were taken with my iPod, while pretending that I’m not taking pics, but simply looking at it from an awkward distance. I’m sure the shopkeepers knew what I was doing, but they graciously let me continue.

Also, please do keep in mind that I have not read these books so I am not advertising their content.

The concept!

The detail!

 The playfulness!

The illustration!

The typefaces!

The simplicity!

I know most of these are in English, and not Danish, so you can’t attribute them the choice of covers. To their credit, here are a few Danish covers for  classics, and they are superb, don’t you think?

Look what I found and look what I finally bought! Sorry (and not sorry) to report that I succumbed to the temptation and got Unusual Uses For Olive Oil, by Alexander McCall Smith. This is the latest in the Professor Von Ingelfeld series – my favourite.

Hoping to drop by at least one more bookshop – a second-hand one my husband recommended (they have a copy of Perelandra, by C. S. Lewis there, another favourite I wouldn’t mind owning).

Do you find book covers inspiring? 

5 thoughts on “Book Covers Galore

  1. Elena! You seriously rooock! You know, I remember when I wrote one essay in high school about book covers and how little influence they have on what we read, I wanted to believe that, however, it was EXTREMELY hard to prove that, but I honestly believed that. But now more and more I understand how influential they are!!! Oh my! And people are working on book covers so hard to attract readers’ attention. I am impressed to realize that as I am getting more aware of stuff in the world, and as I see the trends in people around me:)

    Thank you for posting this great post:)))) I am ALWAYS enjoy reading your blog posts! So inspiring!

    Like

    1. I know, I feel like the saying “don’t judge a book by its cover” is not doing a book justice. Why shouldn’t the cover be as beautiful as the content, and the other way around?
      Although of course there’s countless examples of that not being the case.
      Thank you for the encouragement you are, girl!

      Like

Leave a Reply

