Should You Get a Kindle? Pt. II

img_0038

I already went through the reasons why I have a Kindle – you can read about it here. (This post will make more sense if you read the first so go on, read it) 

Amongst other things, I mention the fact that books for Kindle are more affordable, especially for those living in Eastern Europe (me!) and in countries where English is not the first language. Cheaper – not VERY CHEAP, mind you – but cheaper than the English books available in bookshops in Europe.

Here comes in the bit of field work I did to back up my statement. In the Vienna International Airport, out of all places.

They have an International Bookshop – or was it called the English Bookshop? – the point is that I’ve bought books there before, and as we had a bit of time on our hands, we browsed their few shelves of books in English.

While they didn’t have that much of a choice, they had some interesting titles.

But the prices!
A book on entrepreneurship that costs  €41,50 in the bookshop. To buy it for Kindle, you’d have to pay  $33,99 – still pricey, but the difference between about $53 and $34 is significant.

A personal favourite – Alexander McCall Smith’s latest The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection. I already have it on my Kindle, and probably paid around $10 for it. In the bookshop, it was  €15,40 or about $20. I wonder why, because this must’ve been published in the UK, hence shouldn’t have been that pricey. Not that I know anything about the way this works, so don’t judge me too harshly, economically-minded readers.

Another book – that I picked for the great cover. Costs  €33,40 or around $43. It is only $18,50 on Kindle – I don’t know about you, but this is mind blowing to me, this almost $25 difference.

See what I mean? The books for Kindle are NOT CHEAP, but they are CHEAPER. At least in this part of the world.

Now I have to use the DISCLAIMER again: Amazon is not paying me for this post. I just thought you should know.

Even though I am a huge bookshop fan and I dream of having one of my own one day – the facts are facts. For some reason, browsing the shelves of a bookshop and buying a book there is far more satisfying than the “Buy now with 1-Click” on Amazon. But when there’s so big a difference in price, I stop at the browsing, as heartbreaking as that is. 

So what do you think? Am I the only one surprised by the difference in prices? 

p.s. I enjoyed playing the investigating journalist, might do it again.

3 thoughts on “Should You Get a Kindle? Pt. II

Leave a Reply

