What Are You Reading Now?

img_cannon400d-86

Summer reading is best done outside and with a bowl of fresh fruit to snack on.

This I do plenty of, varying between a bowl of strawberries freshly picked from the garden, and a mix of summer berries, cherries and all sorts of yummies – summer reads are positively delicious!

So far, I’ve favoured physical books over Kindle reading – might be seasonal? – and the great thing is that I bought A LOT of great books from my friend Nancy – see how many?

I have read all the books in the Redemption series, that I had half in books and half on Kindle. This is the first series in a Baxter Saga – and while it is a captivating read, it’s hardly light-hearted. My, did I sob while reading it! I enjoyed it, although not sure I’ll take on the rest of the Saga – there’s 5 series and a staggering 22 books all in all. Read more about it here.

I also read Balancing Act by Kimberley Stuart and my first ever Agatha Christie story! Why the emphasis? Well, Agatha Christie is an author my grandfather, my father, my mother and my father-in-law have all read, way before I even learned to read. It’s a family tradition that is being passed from generation to generation. While they read it in Russian and Romanian, I’m the first one to read it in the original English. Might just be me, but all this family history makes me excited about the book.

So here’s what is on my currently-reading shelf


Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young

A devotional I read every day, that’s been a tremendous encouragement to me. These days, I read about God’s good plans for me, and the way my laughter brings His Father Heart joy – and I’m learning to surrender my plans (and worries!) in His hands.

 

 Simply Jesus, by N.T.Wright

This book is anything but simple. It’s hard to explain Jesus in a simple manner to begin with, and then Wright leans mostly on the apologetics side. It still makes for a good read, as I’m learning quite a bit about the context of Jesus’ life and ministry, and the theological aspect of it, too.

The ABC Murders, by Agatha Christie

My second detective story for the month. What can I say? I am hooked!

While this is another Hercule Poirot book, I’m curious what the Miss Marple ones are like – so might move on to one of those next.

What summer reads would I recommend? 

I’d be glad to make a few SUMMER READS recommendations, depending on what you like to read. I’d be happy to lend you something from my (recently expanded) library, too.

Shall I make a list of books I recommend and have available for lending? 

On a whole different note, here’s the latest print I made, on books. There’ll be a few more on Gribook Creative soon!

think2.jpg

What are you reading this summer, friend?  

 

6 thoughts on “What Are You Reading Now?

  1. Greetings from Austria!
    I see you are enjoying all summer garden goodies in Moldova!!!

    I have started The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. For some reason it is going very slowly, as I think of it now, I guess you call it stopped.

    Actively reading on Compared to Her by Sophie de Witt. The author defines “compared to her” issues as Compulsive comparison syndrome. I curious read on how women see one another and especially how they relate based on what they think they see in others. It would be a good bibliographical item for a study on self-esteem. It written from a christian perspective, but not for Christians only.

    Jesus Calling by Sarah Young is the devotional I keep this year on my desk. The main that I follow is Our Daily Bread devotionals. Jesus Calling is more of a dessert read when I get 15 – 20 minutes free during working hours. Don’t tell anyone about this =)

    Recently I found Beth’s Moore Praying God’s Word day by day devotionals. It is more of a guide in prayer, as I personally see it. Looking forward for 2014 to use it from cover to cover.

    Summer is always perfect time for reading. Enjoy the season!

    Like

    1. Vika – found your comment! So sorry, Gribook’s been under a lot of hacking attacks lately, so we’ve improved security, but it seems like it’s also being too tough on comments and it quickly send them to spam. I’ll have to keep an eye on that.

      The Book Thief – I’ve been recommended this book again and again, but I’ve also heard it’s kinda scary. That true?

      So you have Jesus Calling, too? There’s a bunch of my friends who read it – we’re on the same page! – and the great thing about it is that while I read it, I’m reminded to pray for them, too. It’s the first devotional I stuck to for longer than a week, but I’ll be on the look out for something for next year, the Beth Moore one’s an idea.

      Another thing – do you want to join the Book-ing the World bunch and send me a photo of a book next to an Austrian landmark or pretty place? There’s a fun collection already on the FB page, but no pics of Austria yet.

      Enjoy your summer reading too!

      Like

  2. Hello there,
    I admire your passion for life and reading. You inspire me to go grab some fruit in a bowl and read something interesting.

    I started this summer very strong with a book which I won’t forget, and might re-read at some point. It’s Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. I also read a book called The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson this past month. Both of these were great reads and I would recommend to others.

    Right now I’m reading a Stephen King, but I can’t wait for the 24th of June to come (that’s when my Audible credit arrives, and I can buy a book) so I could start with The Mark Of The Lion series by Francine Rivers. I forget have you read any of those?

    Thanks for the awesome post again! Talk to you in the world of flesh and blood!

    Like

    1. You are adorable, Mr. Igor!

      But let us keep a professional tone here. I have not read The Mark of the Lion because I’m not all that into historical fiction. This being said, I did enjoy Redeeming Love (also historical romance) and the Mark of the Line series is probably her most popular one. Do you know that it’s been translated into Romanian, too?
      My next Francine Rivers book is probably going to be Her Mother’s Hope. But do let me know if you like the Mark of the Line – in the world of flesh and bone, please! – maybe I’ll give it a try, too.
      Thank you for the awesome you!

      Like

  3. Elena,

    It’s so interesting hearing about your reading experience and thanks for sharing about your little bookworm life! 🙂

    Your stories really inspire me to read more and more books. Although it is hard to find free time during the school year, summer is my favorite time to read as well. I’ve started my summer with “Contagious” by Jonah Berger, a marketing professor at Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania (yeah, I know – it doesn’t sound really intriguing). It’s a strategic book about what makes things popular and why and how things go viral, and I got it on the plane on the way to a conference in Oregon. The flight attendant gave it to me for free just out of sympathy (I was on the last row in the back – haha) But it was something useful for a flight of 5 hours. 🙂

    Right now, I’m reading The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I think it’s a thought-provoking book and quite deep about understanding different aspects of life. Also, I read My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers – my every day devotional. 🙂

    Thanks again for sharing, and looking forward to your posts! Enjoy your summer!

    Like

    1. Really? You’re reading The Book Thief, too? See my friend Vika in the comments, she’s reading it 🙂

      My Utmost for His Highest is one of Igor’s fav devotionals, actually, although he sometimes reads the Dietrich Bonhoeffer one, or the Charles Spurgeon.

      Thanks for the tip – maybe I’ll book a flight at the back, see if any kind flight attendants will have mercy on me. I usually have my own book with me, or my Kindle – but I can hide it 😉 You know what this is called – book greed, and I’m so guilty of it.

      Thanks for the encouragement girl, drop me a FB messages sometimes – I’d be happy to hear how you are and wat you’re up to these days.
      hug!

      Like

Leave a Reply

