An Introvert on Introverts

img_0299

There’s little that hasn’t been said about introverts. Especially since this (marvelous, if I may add) book:


Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking
,ย 
by Susan Caine

I read it recently and goodness, did I like it! Partly, of course, because I am introvert. Partly, because it is brilliant. A must-read even for extroverts who, whether they realise it or not, have to deal with us introverts all the time. So read on, both introverts AND extroverts!

Quiet is a book I can talk about for hours – feel free to ask me, if we meet – but in this post I will only tell you one thing, and it is this:

Dear introverts, our perceived weaknesses can become our greatest strengths.

Seriously. Here’s a few examples.

Sensitive / Compassionate

We are sensitive – yes, but because us of this we are also compassionate. We’re empathetic to a fault, but we never shy away from deep conversations on subjects like personal problems, which others would consider too heavy. We’re keen to carry the burdens of others although not always feeling capable of carrying our own. We’re Mother Theresa’s in the making, all of us.

Highly sensitive people also process information about their environments – both physical and emotional – unusually deeply. They tend to notice subtleties that others miss – another personโ€™s shift in mood, say, or a lightbulb burning a touch too brightly.

Solitary / Creative

Despite the group-think and team brainstorming that’s been so popular everywhere from big corporations to small kindergarten classrooms, more and more studies show that most creative ideas come from a place of solitude. As introverts, we find our own company perfectly agreeable, and we also don’t mind spending hours (even days or years) on a single pursuit.

Some of the great ideas, art, and inventions – from the theory of evolution to Van Gogh’s sunflowers to the personal computer – came from quiet and cerebral people who knew how to tune in to their inner worlds and the treasures to be found there.

Reserved / Loyal

As introverts, we tend to chanel our energy at a limited (and carefully chosen!) number of people. Although I know plenty of introverts who are very socially active and have tons of friends, they are usually only close to a select few. But these select few can truly count on an affectionate, loyal and caring introverted friend. I know I’d rather have a meaningful conversation with one person, than weather-talks with ten.

Introverts, in contrast, may have strong social skills and enjoy parties and business meeting, but after a while wish they were home in their pyjamas. They prefer to devote their social energies to close friends, colleagues, and family. They listen more than they talk, think before they speak and often feel as if they express themselves better in writing than in conversation. They tend to dislike conflict. Many have a horror of small talk but enjoy deep discussions.

These are only a few. I am hoping that you will take a hard look at yourself, at both your strength and weaknesses, and see how you can actually make a one-of-a-kind contribution to this world. I’m preaching to myself here, too.

Figure out what you are meant to contribute to the world and make sure you contribute it.

One last thought. We might not be naturally outspoken and gregarious, but when we’re passionate about something, there is very little than can stop us from pursuing it and even talking about it.

When an introvert has something important to say, they’ll overcome all fear and speak boldly, whether driven by creativity, conscience or empathy.

There is no one more courageous than the person who speaks with the courage of his convictions. In other words, introverts are capable of acting like extroverts for the sake of work they consider important, people they love, or anything they value highly.

For those of you who don’t have the time to read the book, you might want to take a look at this TED talk:

TED Talk : Quiet, Susan Cain

See how much I can write if it’s something so close to my heart?

Are you an introvert? Feel free to share if this was encouraging at all.

An extrovert? Does any of this help you make better sense of someone from your family or friends?

8 thoughts on “An Introvert on Introverts

  1. I like your post better than the book! =)
    Please know that I NEED your posts!
    And so good to know who I am…after I found out that I’m an introvert, it started to be easier for me to manage life and say no to many things and people. I am not afraid now of saying “No, I won’t go to that party, I’d much rather stay home and enjoy silence and a good book or video” =)

    Like

    1. Thank you, Anechka! You know what? You are a perfect example of an introvert who, when she has something to say and contribute, she does so as actively and enthusiastically as any extrovert. This is why I’m so excited about what God’s going to do through you – He’s bound to do beautiful things with your compassionate heart, your creativity and your passion for Him and for people!

      Like

  2. Elenachka,
    this has helped me realize that there is a little part of me that’s “introvertic” and it helped me define it! I would love to hear more on this topic! Do you know any hood books on extraverts that I could read?

    Your posts are sooo much fun to read — thank you for writing and taking time to do that, my dear!:)

    Like

    1. haha Sarunechka – books on introverts? I’m afraid I don’t know of such as of yet. Maybe there’s one waiting to be published, perhaps you Miss Sunshine could write it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Uaaa… si eu sunt introvert si tare as vrea sa citeasca cartea aceasta sotul meu care este un extrovert deosebit.
    Incurajatoare postare, as vrea sa facem un studiu de caz pe acest subiect si carte ๐Ÿ˜‰ ca intre noi introvertii… poate iese vreo idee genial dintr-un concentrat de tacuti pe metru patrat ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    1. Hai sa facem studiu de caz, Taniush! Eu putine am mentionat aici, am inca multe de impartasit despre specia noastra rara de introverti ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

