2013 Reading Challenge Completed

img_0168
2013 has come and gone – crazy fast, it seemed to me – and I’m yet again an Overachiever on Goodreads.

Not because I’m all that great of a bookworm, but because I have set too low a goal. I have no problem with that, though – because I’ve enjoyed a year of good reads (pun not intended) and reading more than I assumed I will is nothing but encouraging news.

And here is the list:

Non-Fiction

Non- fiction: 23 books

Fiction: 37 books

Kindle: 28 e-books (I read mostly hard copy books this year!)

Most read Author: Agatha Christie by far with 9 book

Book of the Year: The Creative Call, by Janice Elsheimer  (it was very hard to pick because I’ve read a few very good books this year)

Discovery of the Year: Agatha Christie (read by most of the members of my family, it was my time to discover her classic easy-reading detectives)

This year’s been the first one in a couple when I’ve read more hard copy books. Partly because of the LCC Library and partly because I bought a bunch of books from my friend Nancy and got about the same amount of books that an acquaintance left behind.

Looking back, it’s been a bit of a disappointing year in fiction. I’ve been reading the books I’ve picked up and while Nancy’s taste in books is exquisite and mostly non-fiction,  the other lady’s are mostly romantic and historic novels. I’m reading some of them, just to get a feel for them and they’re easy, clean reads, but not exactly what I’d pick myself.

Which is why Agatha Christie has been a breath of fresh air – I’m not saying this is the epitome of the literary craft, but they’re witty and fun and they’ve kept me glued to a book during a time when I had little or no time to read.

It has been a wonderful year in terms of non-fiction, though – I have read some inspiring books that are bound to stay with me for years and years to come. You’ll see the ones I marked 5 stars, and I’ve even mentioned some of them in previous blogposts over the year: The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership, The 7 Habits of Highly Efficient People, The Creative Call, Quiet, The Prayer of Jabez, Good to Great.

I have read all books but one on my 2013 To-Read List: The Meaning of Marriage, by Timothy Keller is a book hubby and I are still planning to read. On the Fiction front, I did not read Gone With the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell and That Hideous Strength, by C.S.Lewis – not sure about the first one, but the second one I’m going to read. (I am most determined, I tell you!)

How does your 2013 look like, in terms of books?

9 thoughts on “2013 Reading Challenge Completed

  1. My reading challenge for 2013 was 50….I made it up to 59 books 🙂

    Three BEST books I read on 2013,
    1.Business For The Glory Of God => Wayne Grudem
    2.The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People => Stephen R.Covey
    3.What on Earth Am I Here For? => Rick Warren

    Thanks to ‘gribook’ for giving away “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R.Covey”. I loved it!

    Like

    1. Nikolino – you’re most welcome! And see, we both have The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People in our top reads of last year. Hi5!

      Congrats on being an overachiever this year, too! That makes 3 of us – you, Igor and I 🙂 I’m sure there’s more, but these are the 3 people I know.

      What’s your challenge for 2014?

      Like

  2. I challenged myself with 25 books this year but looking at how many books I would LOVE to read and at my pace today, I want to double that. But I am kind of afraid to do that, so I will keep reading and then I might double the 25 which would equal 50 (!!!!), am I crazy??:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

