My 2015 To-Read List

Gribook: ElenaMaking a list of books to read in the next year is so much more exciting than New Year Resolutions.

I make lists of books I have, I add books friends recommend, then books who have great reviews on Amazon or Goodreads. As a result I have a huge list of the most eclectic kind. This is the where the pruning begins, excluding all but the most exciting ones. The final list makes me so excited, it’s hard not to pick up every single book and start reading right away, forgetting about food and sleep.

It might sound tedious to you, if you don’t have a nerdy bone in you. But I’ll tell you, I enjoy every minute of it.

Sharing it with you is part of the thrill, so here goes:

Gribook: Seven, Jen Hatmaker7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess, Jen Hatmaker
I’m done with this, so it’s almost a waste to put it in. But it was on the original list. Besides, I enjoyed it very much. I expected to feel very guilty and a terrible materialistic monster of a person while reading this. And I do a bit, but Jen Hatmaker is so honest, so unpretentious and so funny about it, that I am inspired without feeling extremely burdened.

Gribook: David&GoliathDavid and Goliath, Malcolm Gladwell
I’ve been wanting to read this for too long. The only Malcolm Gladwell book I haven’t read yet. That’s it, I bought a hard copy of this. They had it at KYOBO in Seoul! In English, too! And only a little more expensive than in the US! It’s also about time I own a book by the author I like so much. I’m THRILLED.

Gribook: the Jesus hearted womanThe Jesus Hearted Woman, Jodi Detrick
One of the few hard copy books I took with me to Korea. My friend Heidi suggested we start reading it together and I figured: why let a few thousand km stand in the way of that? Not sure if Heidi’s still up for it, though!

Gribook: Soul DetoxSoul Detox, Craig Groeschel
Another book I’ve been meaning to read for a while. Friends who’ve read it recommend it, including my sister – who told me about it in the first place.

Gribook: you and me foreverYou and Me Forever, Francis and Lisa Chan
A great birthday gift I got from my friend Anna, from Belarus. Considering how much my husband respects Francis Chan, this is a perfect book for us to read together, which we already started doing.

Gribook: atlas shruggedAtlas Shrugged, Ayn Rand
Ayn Rand is one of my husband’s favorite authors. He has read both Atlas Shrugged and Fountainhead numerous times, but he recommends that I start with the first. This was the first paperback we bought in Seoul, too!

Gribook: the hiding placeThe Hiding Place, Corrie Ten Boom
When my friend Heidi had to name one book that has defined her, at our first ever English Book Club meeting, she named this book. Knowing Heidi, I expect this to be highly inspirational.

Gribook: Jonathan Livingston SeagullJonathan Livingston Seagull, Richard Bach
Here’s the plan. (1) I will go to the KYOBO Bookshop, the huge one at the Shinsegae Department Store in Busan, where Igor and I happen to be this week (2) I will find this book in English, which should be easy enough because I saw it in Seoul (3) Find a cosy reading spot, which they have and it’s the best thing (4) Read this little book from cover to cover, because it’s pretty short. How is this not going to be fun?

Gribook: All the King's menAll the King’s Men, Robert Penn Warren
My sophisticated bookworm friend Anna speaks very highly of this book, which is why it made it’s way into this list. It also serves a good purpose. Every year I pick at least one book that is out of my comfort zone – my bookish adventure, if you will. All King’s Men fills this spot for 2015.

Gribook: mark of the lionMark of the Lion series, Francine Rivers
Considering just how much I liked every single book I read by Francine Rivers so far, and that she is by far the Christian fiction writer I admire most, my reluctance to start this series doesn’t make sense. Granted, I’m not big on history novels, but my husband read them all in a breath. If that’s not the best recommendation in the world, I don’t know what is.

These are some of the books I’m excited about reading this year.

The English Book ClubPLUS the books we’ll be reading with THE ENGLISH BOOK CLUB. If you’re in Chisinau, Moldova and you read in English, you simply have to join this bookish bunch. The book we’re reading now is And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie. ASK to join the page if you are interested, and you’ll get more details.

What’s on your to read list? 

Featured photo Credit to Dana, of DLR Photography

9 thoughts on “My 2015 To-Read List

  1. Firstly, the picture of yours is just gorgeous! I mean YOU ARE GORGEOUS 🙂
    And I loved the list too 🙂 I am really interested how you find the “You and Me Forever book”. I think it’s best to read with a spouse, I’ll definitely need to re-read it when time comes.

    Thanks for the post! Always such a joy to see smth from you in my feed. I looove your writing and sharing!

    Like

    1. Thank you, girlie! You found the comments section, all the way here! I REALLY appreciate this, because I’m still finding my way around this new page.

      Yes, hubby and I read the first chapter, then we got busy. We’ll try to read it together on the weekends.

      Any books you have on your list? I’d like to see it, for inspiration purposes 🙂

      Like

    1. Heidi – that is wonderful! Let me know when you start your girls’ study and I’ll join you. This is not a hint, but a reminder 😉
      Have you noticed I have two books recommended by you on this list? That’s because I’ve enjoyed the ones you’ve recommended before. Which reminds me that I haven’t read Dee Henderson books in along while. Does she have any new ones?

      Hug

      Like

  2. I say Anne Lamott again. She is an out of the box Christian. Nothing trite ever. Fresh language. Thoughtful. Fresh.
    Any Rand: ancient, irritating ideas.
    Malcolm Gladwell: the best yet and I love his analysis of David. speaks to us all.
    Frances Chan: haven’t read this but everything I have read is excellent. Not same old, same old.

    Like

    1. Phyllis, I will try another Anne Lamott!

      Amazon tells me she has two newer books:
      Small Victories: Spotting Improbable Moments of Grace
      AND
      Stitches: A Handbook on Meaning, Hope and Repair
      – have you read any of them? Which one would you recommend?

      blessings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

